Aussie Firebug

Financial Independence Retire Early


I’ve been tracking every single dollar I have spent for a good 4 years now. And May is always a good month with no major big ticket expenses.
This May was no exception. We managed to save very well and added about $6K to our net worth from cash.
Mrs. Firebug had another $5K installment of lost Super which just keeps on keeping on apparently. And I had an influx of cash that has something to do with another post that is currently in the making but one that I can’t share right now. It’s a long story, so for the sake of this net worth update, my cash reserves went up around $5k and that’s all I can say for now.


I was MC at a wedding for the first time which was pretty cool.


Oh, and I turned 28 in May ???


I always had this grand plan to reach FI before I turned 30 so I could be one of those 1 % of the 1% kinda people. You know the type. They are on talk shows sometimes and in magazines and everyone else is looking/reading about them like WTF that’s impossible!


This dream quickly vanished when I realized that to become FI before you’re 30 requires an incredible amount of luck, timing, skill, and risk… but I’d say out of all those attributes, luck plays the most important part. I sometimes trip out thinking about how lucky and fortunate I have been with my situation.

  • Born in Australia (best country in the world!)
    • Side note on this point. Sometimes I feel like millennials shit on Australia constantly (high cost of living, no jobs, slow internet speeds, fuck the boomers and so on). But like, just the fact that you happened to live in Australia is a MASSIVE advantage. Feel glad that you live in a country where FI is actually a possibility. /rant
  • Could not have asked for better parents. Showed me the value of the dollar at an early age and gave me a great upbringing
  • Was lucky enough to fall into a high paying job straight out of Uni (comparatively speaking)
  • Live in a rural area where housing is only 2-3 times our combined annual salary
  • Discovered FIRE in my early to mid 20’s


But I’m cool with reaching FI during my 30’s.


TBH, both my partner and I have already talked about how epic it would be even just working 3 days a week at some stage in the next 5-7 years. Sometimes when I take leave or when the public holidays line up well, I managed to get a 3-day working week and it’s great. SO much extra time back in my life and working 3 days is easy and enjoyable.


Anyway. We reached 1/3 of a Mil this month!


And that’s definitely something worth celebrating.

Net Worth Update



Around $5K Super, good savings ($6K, little ETF bump and cash ($5k) from another source which is to be revealed.



No change in any of the properties for this month.

Various data sources (RP data, etc.) are used in combination of what similar surrounding properties were sold for to calculate an estimate. This is an official Commonwealth bank estimate and one which they use to approve loans.


ETFs had a slight gain this month (hover over to see $$$ figures)



Download My Networth Sheet

Download my personal spreadsheet I use to calculate my net worth each month

Australian FIRE Calculator
Send it!
Get Calculator!
Get FREE Aussie Firebug updates, tips and tricks, and exclusive content!
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Download My Networth Sheet

Download my personal spreadsheet I use to calculate my net worth each month